Chapter 9

Chapter Nine is written by James Farmer….who is that? I first found out that he is the found and CEO of Edublogs, which is based on blogs and education, which is what this whole chapter is about. He knows his stuff.

I first read the chapter, underlined key points and area of interests and wrote ideas that popped up in my mind as I read along. What I wrote:

  1. “kinda like homeschooling”
  2. “our class doesn’t”
  3. “Amish blogs!”
  4. “He means less authority”
  5. “Thats our blogs”

1.)  I was first brought in by the importance of comunication and social aspects of eduaction and how it plays a key role in schooling. So it got me thinking about my home schooled friend. Her mother guided her through courses, but mostly she learned through various dvd that were of teacher lectures and she had asignments and would go to her mother for extra help if she got stuck. Or, at least, that was how I remembered her explaining it to me the one time I asked and never thought of it much since.

I can see how with out a group interaction knowledge and creativity can be lost. The more brains we get together the chances that ideas can progress and become sucessful grow exponentiall as mentioned in the video in the Daybook blog way earlier.

2.) In this chapter the writer also mentions the prominent communication tool being the discussion board for most online classes and the problems the go along with them. I noticed that our class doesn’t have an online discussion board, instead, we use comments to discuss things or provide feedback to and for each other which I think has been working effectively. I know I have learned from reading comments peers have posted through out our course materials.

It’s interesting how the bulletin board flaw is that it doesn’t allow students to express themseves and so they use detailed signatures to convery themselves as real people. We are able to convey ourselves as real people through our tones, images, links, opinions, ideas….

bulletin3.) One day in class someone mentioned how the Amish would blog since they do not use the internet. Well on page 94 the writer gives an example of another flaw of bulletin boards similiar to what was said in class.

“This is not dissimilar to entering a room that may or may not be frequented by the people you wish to communicate with (who will, in either case, be invisible to ther user) leaving a message on the table, and then returning each day to see if someone has responded to the message. Likewise, any person responding to the message would have to visit the room each day to see if the writer or anyone else has replies to it…”

That was a fun connection.

4.) More on the discussion board flaws, a teacher has less authority. They aren’t able to have more influence classthan any of their students, learning process could leap into a different angle without the authority to keep things in the direction they aim for the goal of a class. It is crucial that a teacher guides the class and I think in our class, we are guided fairly well as long as we read carefully and take the time we need to do our posts. We are given tools and resources to use along with deadlines most of it is up to us what angle to hit the material with but we are able to get through it all by following the guidelines we are originally given. I dont think I’ve ever had this much freedom in a class before, and at first it was a little disorientating to get used to but I enjoy the process now.

5.) On page 95 we have the quote,

[Online learning environments] “have allowed learners to complete studies in ways that would not previously been possible, and have facilitated innumerable valuable conversations and exchanges of knowledge.”

And I firmly agree. By reading my classmates posts I have learned valuable information and have been shown ideas that I wouldn’t have even thought about before. I can see different angels to asignments that I wouldn’t have thought to take and I try to leave behind comments to those where I learn something from and I wish I could remember exactly which ones and link to them…hmmm.

So that was my notes for chapter 9 on this post and in my second post I am going to google some of these concepts and ideas to further my understanding of the material.

One thought on “Chapter 9

  1. […] We were to read chapters 9 and 10, and then post on what we found in the reading. I did an in-depth look at chapter 9. I read through it once, underlined key notes and wrote remarks in the columns then made a closer look at my remarks and why they struck a chord. That post can be seen here. […]

Leave a Reply

