Research on Scholarly Bloggin’

As Halavaris pointed out before the themes of scholarly blogs, others agree with this benefits that blogs provide as well as provide further insights. Blogs are a place to aggregate ideas as Martin Weller shows on his blog where it has become the heart of his academic life.  It was also interesting to read the comments that went along with this post, some were encouraging while a few were negative towards the ideas presented. The comments provided further details into other virtues of blogging that Weller didn’t cover and some drawbacks such as it beingconnectinh an unpublished work that has grammar problems. In that case my posts are bad when it comes to grammar, anything I write is bad in grammar. But I believe in the artistic value where it is the ideas that matter and not the grammatical correctness. Or if its true that blogs are scholarly how do we get our institutions to recognize their worth? Why havent they yet if blogs have been around for over ten years?

At Dr. Mathew Ashton’s blog he came up with a list of five reasons that blogging has its benfits in academics. I particularly liked reason number 2, that is encourages writing and research. As an aspiring writer I agree. Since I’ve started blogging I have been kept on a more regular writing basis. Writers are supposed to write, and this has given me a reason to keep plugging away. I also like the idea that it is a way to gather material for later uses as Dr. Ashton provided an example of rereading through his blog to come up with a new lecture on short notice. Blogging as spiked new ideas for myself and my doing our Sunday weekly review, we are able to look back and connect the dots as we see them across our posts.

2 thoughts on “Research on Scholarly Bloggin’

  1. […] For the uses of blogs part three we were suppose to read through chapters 11-14 and then respond with at least two posts. My first post is here, and my second post is here. […]

  2. mcmorgan says:

    … and holding the ideas in suspension in your comments on Halavais sets it up so you can develop it further in this post. I’d bet the work you did with Halavais allowed you to see what was going in in Weller’s blog – the annotating and getting support – and put you in a position to value Ashton’s five reasons. Seeing that in your practice helps me see that I’m *not* doing it in mine.\

Leave a Reply

