Sunday Review #2 on my fiction blog

First post: Ezrick’s Rage 1.1

This week I began writing with a new character. This post was rather long and no one liked it. I think it was repitive somewhat in content, but also since of its length I’m sure it isn’t as easy to read. So in my next fiction posts I decided to write them in shorter lengths.

Second post: Research on Blogs

12 bloggers liked this. After doing this post I viewed others and I wont call them out, mostly because the two I’m thinking of are very confrontational but that’s what I want to talk about. They are active with their comments, and this is something I will research/review in more depth next week. The pattern I’m noticing, is they write a controversal post, then follow it with an apology post, both gaining hundreds of comments.

Third post: 1/3 Ezrick 1.2

5 bloggers like this.

Forth post: 2/3 Ezrick 1.2

11 bloggers like this.

Fifth post: 3/3 Ezrick 1.2

7 bloggers like this.

These three posts are more or less one day combined. I realized that by breaking it up into shorter posts I’m more likely to get readers. I tried to stay around 900 words with the last post being over 1000. I figured if I got people reading the two previous posts if the third is longer they would stick around and read it. I really feel that LENGTH is what determines likes for me right now with the longest ones being less active than the shorter pieces. I also posted the first two of the 3/3 series on the same day shortly after one another so I’m glad that both gained likes although they were so close together. I found it strange that more people liked the second one.

Sixth post: Werewolf Thoughts

5 bloggers like this. I noticed that as I toured WordPress in search of fiction blogs, I was drawn into reading poetry on the topics I picked. So I threw out some poetry, and I’m not a poet so I know the poem wasn’t very good, but I got some likes and a follow out of it.

Seventh post: The Unwanted Pack Member

This post I screwed up on, saving it as a draft instead of publishing it on Saturday like I thought I did. So it has yet to gain a readership. Although it set me up nicely for next weeks line of fiction posts.

I know I wanted to write more research posts, but I’m still drawn into the fiction ones. Hoping this week I am more self disciplined and do the research/review posts more often than not. I want to discuss likes and comments in the next fiction post.

On another note, I allowed scam comments for a while and my post from last week, Nearby Enemies, ended up with 20 or so comments all from I think scammers. I find this odd. I also gained 9 followers since last sunday.

-Sarah D.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Review #2 on my fiction blog

  1. […] Here is last week in review: Sunday Review # 2 […]

  2. Olivia Stocum says:

    Wow, you give this a lot more thought than I do. I just write whatever I feel like. he-he

    • SMD09 says:

      Thanks! I started blogging a few months ago for a class I’m taking. I’m trying to learn the best way to do this is, (I prefer writing just for the fun of it too tho lol) 🙂

  3. […] Week Two progression of story learning how to entice followers […]

Leave a Reply

