Studio Tours

Here’s my attempt at the studio tours, you guys are doing a great job, can’t wait to see presentations of everyone’s projects later in the year. (On a side note I have a horrible cold but will fight through it to get this assignment done.)

1.) Jake Ford

First up is Jake Ford and his Hockey Blog.

Something I noticed right away, the links off of the proposal didn’t work. But I found the blog by finding a past weekly summary and those links worked.

I noticed that the word “hockey’ wasn’t a tag, I think that would be a very appropriate tag to use. 😉

Then I realized I know nothing about hockey so I looked under the About page.

I liked what I read. It gave me a sense of his experience and authority over hockey and sports in general. He has lots of experience in this area and I found that highly reassuring to my extremely limited knowledge revolving around middle school girls hockey where I attended games/practises of my best friend but that was…oh jeez…9 years ago? (Which is kind of funny because growing up in northern MN you’d think I’d have some instinctual fondness for hockey so I apologize for my personal limitations here)

For widgets he utilizes recent posts, tweets, archives, categories, and tags in that order.

This is helpful because a dedicated follower will want to see the most recent posts first to catch up on anything they miss.

I really like that he uses tweets, that is something I haven’t done yet but think would be beneficial in helping generate traffic.

Looking at his archives he has a total of three posts from March and five from April.

He breaks down his posts into either college or nhl hockey.

Then back to what I noticed first, the tag cloud.

We start off at the beginning with three predication posts on the ncaa tournament. These posts he does a great job linking to the teams and to individual players. He mixes in team history and analyzes wins vs losses to make predictions. I appreciate his unbiased approach giving his opinion but based off of facts. He uses images of real players and rinks to accompany his posts, along with grids to highlight information.

2.) Jordon Malm

Next is Jordon and Study Tool Wiki.

Jordon finds effectiveness partially in his classmates responses to the idea of using Wiki’s and most seem receptive. His progress is mostly content related. Classmates like the idea of having an online study guide. Making sure there aren’t any dead ends in the Wiki.

On the left hand side of his Wiki he has his welcome center with an about, contact, home, links, and syllabus tabs. Each is helpful for a newcomer to learn more about the site, but also important information is easily to find such as the syllabus right away.

Then he has an assignments tab, I didn’t understand any of those but would make sense to anyone else in his class. Then he has notes, and lastly terminology. The terminology was most interesting for me to read through, I like how they link back to each other such as “abstract class” also links to class, and abstract method.

Everything seems to have it’s purpose for the site. I like the use of wiki’s as a study tool idea, I think it would be more effective if there were more contributes to it as most wiki’s utilize, but for a one-man show this has depth and usefulness in it’s subject matter and looks professional.

I wonder if there’s a way to use images on wiki? Even if so what ones could be useful for this project?

3.) Devan Bierbrauer

And finally it’s Devan with a Runescape Adventure Blog.

I’ve never heard of Runescape before this but would like to try it out. Devan has an easy to read writing style, she explains things in a way that I can understand but also entertaining enough to keep me wanting more. The very first post was most helpful when starting out, I highly suggest adding a link to it from your “About Page” since that is where I looked first to find out what the blog is about then figured it must be in the first post so a link at the about page would be nice a shortcut for new comers.

Devan uses images throughout her posts to illustrate them but also screen shots so as she is explaining an aspect about the game a follower can easily understand what she’s talking about. She also uses links throughout her posts that utilize helpful information as well.

I like how she explains her Runescape lingo and abbreviations for what they stand for. She takes us through the game without restating what the tutorial says but by giving basic plot points and discussing aspects of the game.

On the side of the blog she has her recent posts, then recent comments, then archives, then categories. It was easy to navigate the archives to find the order of the posts and to read through them and learn about the game.

One thought on “Studio Tours

  1. […] Week Four the studio tours seeing how others are coming along […]

Leave a Reply

